Reaching a Powerful Anticlimax

Everything’s been a bit of an anticlimax since finding out on Monday that I currently have no signs of cancer. I’ve carried on making a different sort of thick soup each day. I’m still enjoying those and discovering what works for me as food doesn’t taste the same as it used to. And there’s the challenge of getting the consistency just right.

Drinking’s more of a challenge. Liquids tend to make me cough. So I have to tense all the muscles in my neck to avoid choking. That doesn’t look too pretty, but it’s usually effective. I have enjoyed a couple of whiskies with plenty of water. (Bought a bargain 15€ Loch Lomond single malt which goes down nicely.) I also had my first coffee in six months, a cafe solo in San An on Thursday while I was waiting to get my hair cut. Coughed a few times, but it was worth it for that long-forgotten caffeine buzz.

And I’m off to Palma on the 28th for an appointment with the dysphagia clinic. They’re the ones that check my ability to swallow and who I have been totally ignoring for the last few weeks. I’m only supposed to eat crème caramel according to them. So when I see them again I shall, no doubt, just take the advice that suits me.

Leave a Reply

